John Wolosick and Allen Sehn to receive awards at the 2024 Geo-Institute’s Geo-Congress. 

two men in suits
Man in black suit

John Wolosick receives the Harry Schnabel Jr. award 

With 45 years in the industry, John is an expert in soil nailing, slope stabilization, and anchored earth retention. Before joining Keller (then Hayward Baker) in 1996, John held various roles in engineering and operations at Law Engineering Testing Company, CGC, and Nicholson Construction. With a passion for the industry and its advancement, John has published over 35 technical papers and has been involved with numerous associations and committees, including DFI, ADSC, and ASCE. In addition to the Schnabel Award, he has received several honors for his contributions, including the 2008 ASCE/Geo-Institute Martin S. Kapp Foundation Engineering Award., . John was also named the Georgia Society of Professional Engineers ‘Engineer of the Year – Industry’ in 2017 and was awarded the George F. Sowers Piedmont Award by the Georgia Geo-Institute in 2019. Most recently, he received the 2023 DFI Distinguished Service Award. He holds a bachelor’s and master’s in civil engineering from the University of Illinois and is a registered Professional Engineer in over nine states.

The Harry Schnabel Jr. Award was established by the Geo-Institute in 2006. This is a memorial award in recognition of Harry Schnabel's accomplishments in the field of earth-retaining structures. This award encourages continued excellence and innovation by those making a career in the earth-retaining structures industry.

man in dark blue suit

Allen Sehn receives Wallace Hayward Baker award 

With over 40 years in the industry, Al is an expert in grout mix design, concrete behavior and testing, ground improvement, and generally all applications of soil mechanics. He completed his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in 1983. In the years following, Al earned his PhD in Civil Engineering at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. After receiving his PhD, Al joined the faculty at the University of Akron, where he served for over 10 years. In 2003, he joined Keller (then Hayward Baker), holding various roles in engineering until retiring in 2022 as Chief Engineer. Al was involved in numerous industry organizations outside of Keller, including ASCE, the Association of State Dams Safety Officials, Deep Foundations Institute, and the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering.

The Wallace Hayward Baker Award was established in 2000 by the Geo-Institute in recognition of Wallace Hayward Baker's creative and innovative contributions to the field of ground modification.

Published on